7 comments on “‘The Greatest Record Ever Made’

  1. I think the word ‘ironic’ can be redefined when you look at who’s presenting this TOTP…

  2. Wow. Thanks for the excellent history lesson.

    As a 40-something American with a decent working knowledge of the US and UK punk-two tone-pop-rock-whatever scene c. 1976-198_ I am shocked that while I’ve heard passing references to these guys, this is the first time I’ve ever actually listened to them.

    I can understand why the Jam never cracked the US market, notwithstanding their brilliance, but somebody at Sire should have pushed the Undertones a little harder over here. If you can get the Talking Heads played on the radio, the Undertones should have been child’s play

    It seems to me that “Get Over You” in particular would have been a great first single on the FM stations that were playing Parker, Lowe, Costello, Jackson, the Cars, the Pretenders, Blondie, the Police, the Knack etc. I don’t recall whether I ever heard the Buzzcocks on US radio in the 1970s, but they’re another obvious comparison.

    The live clip is interesting. They could obviously bring it on stage, but I bet a little Mod fashion sense would have opened a few doors. Oddly, their look kind of reminds me of the Replacements. Having said that, the cover of the 45 is, of course, outstanding.

    Thanks again for the great post. I’m very glad to know there are still undiscovered treasures from that period.

  3. Thank you for an interesting and informed comment. I can’t say that I have ever seen the Replacements, but I’ll take your word for it. Come back and visit soon.

  4. I’ve just found this blog, well done

    I produced the film about The Undertones with the late great John Peel

    I’ve added this site to my faves

    Vinny Cunningham
    Derry

  5. Thank you Vinny! a great surprise getting a comment on a post I wrote 9 months ago, and from someone personally involved with the band too. It’s about time we had more from them, as JP would have said.

  6. I am now working on a ‘Teenage Kicks’ 30th anniversary film which will (hopefully) be complete by November 2008

    Any suggestions for a title are very welcome :-)

Leave a Reply

