12 comments on “No Elvis, Beatles Or The Rolling Stones…In 1977: Part 2

  1. I’m in email contact with a chap who claims to have the ’77 broadcast on tape, which he’s also mpsified. I need to get back in contact to verify this amazing fact. I guess I should have mentioned this sooner, I probably could have saved these fine fellows a lot of work.

  2. Yay, it must seem like Christmas has come early at So It Goes Towers. If you are lacking any numbers from the list I would say the blogging community are the best people to help.

  3. Adam, you would make me lose the plot for the third time if that were true. The maker of the original 13 list, which is all we’ve had to go on for some considerable time, Andy Smith, said at the time he had a tape of those top tracks, so I find it not inconceivable that someone else would have done the same thing.
    Mick, I like the name for our humble flat: but as for Christmas coming early, see my other blog…it started in June!!!
    Seriously, this has been an exciting week for me, and the treasure hunt is still on.

  4. I agree, Davy, when there are so many other classics to choose from, but then Peely didn’t choose any of the obvious, as I will outline in time to come. For instance, he picked Status Quo’s ‘Cant’ Give You More’, which, seeming to me like a retread of ‘Paper Plane’, wasn’t the best track from ‘Rockin All Over The World’ to select. On the other hand, preferring the Buzzcocks’ ‘Whatever Happened To…?’ over the A-side was probably not because he liked it more….get my drift?

  5. Would you be able to re-up the 1977 top five? I discovered your blog too late! Thanks for sharing, and for the warm, informative and totally enjoyable blog.
    Miles

  6. Thank you for the kind comment, Miles: you certainly know how to make me smile! I will post the tracks again very soon, for the requisite two weeks. Glad you enjoy my blog: it’s a real labour of love (as it is for all my great friends who do the same thing).

  7. ‘Whatever happened to…’ is bloody great. The holes in biro tubes are to equalise the pressure in the tube. Fact.

  8. Thank you for that fact, Crash (notice you didn’t tackle the question about Westlife, though….)

  9. Re. Westlife: perhaps the immortal words of Phil Connors (aka Bill Murray) in ‘Groundhog Day’ are appropriate here:

    ‘People like blood sausage. People are morons’.

Leave a Reply

