9 comments on “Age Of Consent

  1. at a time when no fucker would come out jimmy somerville was a hero. even if he did keep doing that bloody annoying dance thing. it’s bizarre to think that even boy george would try to keep it all hid.
    x

  2. Ahh, I love this video. It was on a great 1984 compilation called Don’t Watch That Watch This that I bought with my pocket money from the bargain bucket at Woolies. Ah, happy memories. Might even have been the first proper, pre-recorded video tape I ever owned actually!

  3. They were brilliant and Ally is abslolutely spot on. And the commnards were brilliant too – I saw their first ever live show, in Battersea Park as part of a GLC ‘Jobs for a Change’ festival (if anybody makes a goldie looking chain comment I will personally come to your house and chide you. Severely.) “thumping 70s disco or lachrymose ballads about people dying of AIDS” just equals one more way of doing fun and heartbreak. And I’d forgotten all about ‘so cold the night’ and now it will go and make my cry again.
    I know I’m not here right now but some things just need to be said.

  4. Davy: Now we know what you do in your spare time ;-)).
    Ally: Yes, indeedy. A ground-breaking icon.
    Kippers: Funnily enough, I never went in for music videos, cos the quality was crap compared to tapes or LPs, but now I know better.
    Crash: Invitation only blog, sir? What’s going on? I think we should be told.

  5. This reminded me of a mystery for me, prompting me to continue my investigation… and still google hasn’t helped me find out what’s being sung at the very start of the song. “To your soul … to your soul”?

Leave a Reply

