4 comments on “The 51st State

  1. A classic track, even if I prefer the title track. Never really got into Nakedself, from 2000, but Infected was my favourite.

    The New Model Army track ’51st State’ from The Ghost Of Cain LP came out the same year.

    And, as you say, how little has changed… *sigh*

  2. They are one of those bands that I forget about for year or two at a time, but then listen to a random track and get *obsessed* with again – totally a formative influence on me (indeed, TMI-alert, they were playing in the background when I popped my cherry).

    One of my few Top of the Pops moments was flicking it on to see him doing ‘Beat(en) Generation’, and my mum saying he should cheer up a bit.

    Oh, and ‘Giant’ from soul-Mining was always my favourite track.

  3. Infected is one of my all time favourite albums. Matt Johnson is a genius in my mind simply for that album alone. Never mind his other stuff.

    Good to have you back boyo!

  4. Yes, thank you for that Ben…more info than I needed to know etc ;-))
    I also liked ‘Soul Mining’, Simon: the LPs sold a lot in my record shop in Plymouth but the staff never played them.

Leave a Reply

