5 comments on “Nil Illegitimi Carborundum

  1. Ha ha, you subversive you! I like your style. I agree with what you say about the whole of the Beatles back catalogue being available to download for free – that is not on and what gives wonderful blogs like this a bad name. I’m sure the Beatles aren’t losing too much money over this post.
    I admit to downloading these four tracks but only because the Luddite in me can’t transfer my vinyl versions onto my Mac (I own all the Beatles back catalogue on LP) so the DCMA can go stick it…

  2. Although I’ve always prefered the post ’65 Beatles to pre, I have recently re-discovered the pure naive pleasures of the early stuff. Great post, and the only thing that I must disagree with you on is your statement that A Day In The Life sounds kind of quaint. Sure, Paul’s part maybe, but it still sends shivers down my spine each time I hear it.
    And screw the blog police, bunch of wastoids that they are. Good on ya for putting up a good fight. I will watch with vigour!

  3. Yes indeedy.
    A smashing cogent post oozing respect and considered opinion.

    I would rather take a bubble bath with a killer whale at the tap end than try to write about these 4 lads.

    Strawberry Fields/Penny Lane is probably as good as it gets for me. Strangely, didn’t make No 1 in the UK. I don’t know about Penny Lane being a constant double entendre Steve. I can ahem, sniff out a finger pie but shouldn’t the fireman be polishing his helmet? What are the others, you rude boy?

    Childhood nostalgia is a potent theme for all of us. Perhaps the different upbringings of Lennon and Macca are reflected strongly in these 2 songs?

    gotta go – there’s a man at the door from the DMCA.

  4. The Beatles were the first group I got into, and they still hold a good bit of power over me. Thinking critically about them and their catalog requires more concious effort than would, I think, any other artist or group. Given that, I end up with the conclusion that “Abbey Road” is their best work, with “Revolver” and “Rubber Soul” close behind. And I find myself thinking that their single best recording was never released as a single: “Back In The USSR”. (Just another oddball opinion from the soon-to-be-frigid Midwest.)

  5. I missed this post first time round for ‘obvious’ reasons and am genuinely glad to finally get to read it. If those of you who are reading without intending to listen because you’re so familiar with the tracks in question, I beg you to reconsider. It’s amazing how astounding these songs are, especially if it’s been a year or two since you last dusted down your phonogram and stuck on the old 33rpm.

    Steve, I’m in the process of posting my latest podcast in a bid to get your fabulout FF project some more punters…

Leave a Reply

