8 comments on “More Leaps In The Dark

  1. What can I say? Another gem of a post. You know, I remember these three sessions from the time and although I would have recorded the shows that they were part of, those cassettes kept getting re-used so thanks to you Steve for allowing me (and hopefully many others) to hear them again. This time I’m keeping copies! (Somebody out there should start up a record label and begin officially releasing the Peel Sessions again).

  2. Well, Strange Fruit were the pioneers in this field, but now the baton seems to have passed to Castle Music, who have given us splendid box sets of the Fall, the Wedding Present and Cinerama. However, if you see the comments box to the post on Harvey’s Rabbit (‘Five Bunny Hops’), you’ll see that a member of their clan has been in touch and is hoping to release some previously unavailable stuff by them, including the session (I hope), although I’ll be reloading that one again some time soon. Other bands follow suit please. The problem is that since a great deal of Peel Sessions are by artists who could not expect to make a commercially successful release out of what they did, it’s not a clarion call I expect will have many takers. So it looks like you’ll have to rely on individuals like myself, the Perfumed Garden, and Fruitier Than Thou to spend time finding and preparing these sessions in a listenable format. In any case, thanks for your encouragement, and keep tuning in.

  3. I’m still here for you boy.
    Been busy too. Black bags around the eyes, but keepin on.

    Soon be Christmas kiddo.
    Hope that young lady of yours is tip top.

  4. Hi this is Gez Donnelly from 10 5 Neuton. We broke up after 3 releases, a 7″ One and Two Fifths, 10″ ep Relative To The Observer and 12″ ep Indian Rope Trick, all on Effortless records. I’m now in a band called Trunk Show based in Prague and Berlin as well as working on my own material. Our debut cd is out this month. For more info check out http://www.sonicbids.com\trunkshow http://www.dovetailrecords.com http://www.myspace.com\whatisinyourtrunk. I can be contacted at Gez’Always In Smoke’on My Space

    Unfortunately the old Neuton website no longer exists.

    Thanks

    Gez

  5. Thanks Dick, I love to hear from you any time with anything you have to say. Yep, soon be Christmas, and I have a couple of surprises in store, along with the usual old rubbish.
    Gez, it was a real pleasure to get your message, I think 10 5 Neuton, as I have said, were excellent, and I will definitely be checking those links out. Anything else is in the email I’ve just sent you!
    Adam, a fellow insect infestation sufferer? Then you know where I’m at, right? Take care, buddy, and come back soon.

Leave a Reply

