Spit And Polish

Well, my little blog’s fame is spreading (albeit slowly). I can now count one more famous reader amongst my ranks. I recently featured the 12 inch of Road Pizza (FF 1988 #32) by Spit, which is basically Vinnie Spit himself and an entourage of musicians. The man himself has actually written to little ol’ me, and a nice guy he really is. He said:

I saw the article you wrote about me on your John Peel blog. Thanks – very kind. John Peel was the best. He’s a legend and his impact on the evolution of music is massive. It’s so cool you have put this together.

In fact, he has given permission for me to post the two tracks I feature today, both from his CD You Would If You Loved Me. The first is a must for Peelites, as it features John introducing Pizza, and you can hear the enthusiasm pour out of him (he compares the guitar style to Duane Eddy’s). Obviously, several introductions have been spliced together and looped: this is followed by the album version of Pizza, which is shorter and tighter (following JP’s suggestion). Contact Vinnie here, see some video files, listen to some more music (including Tu Culo Mi Culo) or read some really out there messages. I like him and his sense of humour a lot. Thanks, Vinnie.

3 thoughts on “Spit And Polish

  1. I’m chuffed that you’re chuffed Steve,
    See, it’s worth the time n effort.

    Snow in UK today. Brrr.

Leave a comment